RULES

General terms and conditions

A: The competition is organised by DW Akademie (hereinafter DW), in cooperation with Al Khatt, and will take place from April to December 2019.

The competition is open to everyone above the age of 18 years at the moment of registration (hereinafter the “eligible persons”). Journalists, developers, designers, data scientists, creatives, technologists, as individuals or representing organisations, are invited to participate, submitting concepts or to be part of a team.

Managers at DW, members of the jury and the persons with whom they live, mentors and the persons with whom they live are not eligible to participate.

MEDIA LOVES TECH is a pre-incubation competition: from the idea to the production of a solution prototype. All projects at this stage of the entrepreneurial project are accepted. Projects must also be in the pre-commercialisation stage. This means that they have not had sales and have no declared customers.

B: To participate, eligible persons must:

  • Access the competition website (link to come) and click on the register button
  • Create a user profile and access the section reserved for the competition on the project platform
  • Join a team (teams must have a minimum of 2 and a maximum of 5 participants)
  • Develop a concept (pitch deck) related to one of the proposed themes. The team may then proceed to the initial stage of design, mock-up or prototyping.

C: Registration will be open from June 2019 through the link on the site. Each person registered in MEDIA LOVES TECH must create a user profile on the project platform, which can be accessed on the website, specifying the place where he or she wants to work.

  • An informative session will be held in late April, on a date to be announced later.
  • On the submission date, the projects to be submitted must be, at most, at the conception phase (pre-prototyping) and projects must be at most at the pre-commercialisation stage.
  • From June to August 2019, the teams must train and work on their concepts. Winning teams in phase 1 will be announced on September 2019 on the competition website.
  • During the Hackathon to be held on October 2019, the teams will begin to develop their prototypes and seek specific skills from the experts leading these workshops.
  • The teams will continue to develop their projects after the Hackathon, until November 2019. Optional workshops will be proposed, with the support of technical and media experts. The dates and locations of these workshops will be announced in the future.
  • 24 November 2019 is the date to submit documents for the final: the project presentation, in PDF format, and a description of the prototype (a demo video is desired). Submission of these two documents must take place no later than 24 November 2019 at 23:00 (Tunis time).
  • All prizes will be announced by the organisers to the recipient teams during the closing ceremony on December 2019.

D: All work carried out by the teams shall be the property of the teams. No company, organisation or entity other than the registered members of the team may claim any prerogatives over the intellectual property developed at MEDIA LOVES TECH. All previous intellectual property that the participants of MEDIA LOVES TECH bring with them or through which they are related due to their employment status must be declared to the other team members and the organisers of MEDIA LOVES TECH.

E: Competition procedures:

Stage 1: Submission before August 2019, announcement of selected projects on September 2019. The selected teams (maximum 10) will win 3,000 TND each and have the to continue to develop their projects during the Hackathon in October 2019.

Stage 2: Teams participating in the Hackathon will continue to work on their products so that they can submit the prototypes prior to November 2019. The team that wins the 30,000 TND will be announced on December 2019 at the closing ceremony. The prize will be awarded in stages according to the progress made in the development of the project.

  • Innovation: the level of innovation of the concept in solving the problem
  • User experience: is the interface friendly and easy to use (according to the target audience of the product)?
  • Functionality: operating level of the prototype and degree of technological innovation
  • Implementation: What is the plan to implement and promote the product in the future (roadmap)?
  • Project team: degree of collaboration in the team, their capacity and motivation to ensure the continuity of the project (during Open-Innovation challenges, it is not just about creating new ideas but collaboration and co-creation are also among the main goals).

F: The documents to be submitted are the following:

Stage 1:

Upload to the site

  • Your pitch deck (with about 10 slides)
  • A concept note (maximum five pages) describing your idea, its relevance to your target audience, the business model, your team, your prototype and any other information you consider relevant

Documents may be drawn up in Arabic, French or English. English is preferred.

Stage 2:

Upload a video, a link to a demo or any other documents that would allow us to evaluate your product or the progress of your work better.

Rules

1. To be declared winners, the selected winning team must meet the following conditions:

Each member must have signed the commitment contract to submit prototypes.
Confirm that he/she meets the eligibility requirements and the other requirements in these rules.

If it fails to meet one of the conditions mentioned above or any other condition mentioned in these rules, the selected team shall be disqualified and, at the discretion of organisers, the prize will be either cancelled or awarded to a different team, in accordance with these rules for participation. The same conditions shall be applicable, modifying them as necessary.

2. Delivery of the prize:

In the event that the selected participant refuses to collect the prize, DW shall be free from any obligations relating to the delivery of this prize and may proceed, at its discretion, to cancel the prize or to a new draw as described in the previous paragraph.

3. Checks:

All registrations and Declaration Forms may be subject to verification by DW. Those that are, as appropriate, incomplete, inaccurate, illegible, mechanically reproduced, defaced, fraudulent, filed or submitted late, including an invalid telephone number or otherwise not valid, may be rejected and shall give no right to the prize.

4. Participation:

Any person participating in MEDIA LOVES TECH or attempting to participate in a manner contrary to these rules and likely to be unfair towards other participants (e.g.: computer hacking, non-declaration of previous intellectual property, etc.) shall be disqualified and may be referred to the competent judicial authorities. Likewise, projects not currently at the pre-incubation (prototyping) and pre-commercialisation stages shall be disqualified.

5. Intellectual property:

Intellectual property of the prototype produced during MEDIA LOVES TECH shall belong to the entire team. If they use pre-existing intellectual property components, it is the responsibility of the teams to ensure that they have full property over these so that they may use them as part of MEDIA LOVES TECH.

6. Running of the competition:

Any attempt to sabotage the legitimate running of the contest shall constitute a breach of civil and criminal law. If any such attempts are made, DW reserves the right to reject the registration of the participant and seek legal compensation.

7. Acceptance of prizes:

Prizes must be accepted as described on the MEDIA LOVES TECH website and may in no case be wholly or partially transferred to another team, replaced by a different prize or exchanged for cash, subject to what the organisers may decide, at their entire discretion.

8. Limitation of liability:

If DW is unable to award the prize as described on the MEDIA LOVES TECH website (add link), it reserves the right to award a prize of the same nature and of equivalent value or, at its entire discretion, the value of the prize specified in these rules.

Limitation of liability – Use of the prize

The winner shall hold DW harmless from any liability for damages that may arise from its participation in MEDIA LOVES TECH or from the acceptance and use of the prize. The winner acknowledges that, after receipt of the prize or the letter confirming the prize, the performance of obligations related to the prize shall become the full responsibility of the different product and service providers. The winner agrees to sign a declaration and liability release form to this end. The winner of a prize acknowledges that the only guarantee applicable to it shall be the usual manufacturer’s guarantee.

Limitation of liability – Force majeure

DW shall assume no liability of any type whatsoever in all cases where their incapacity to act results from a fact or situation independent of their will or arising from a strike, lock-out or any other employment conflict in the establishment of organisations or companies that provide services used to hold this competition.

Limitation of liability – Participation in MEDIA LOVES TECH

DW shall not be liable for entries lost due to any website failures, for any reason whatsoever, for the duration of this competition, including any damages to the computer or mobile device of a participant.

9. Modification of the competition:

At its sole discretion, DW reserves the right to cancel, terminate, modify or suspend this competition, wholly or partially, in the event that an event or any human intervention is found that may alter or influence the management, security, impartiality or running of the competition as specified in these rules and no liability may be attributed to it.

10. End of participation in the competition:

In the event that, for any reason whatsoever, participation in the competition must end wholly or partially before the end date provided in these rules, the prize may be awarded, at the discretion of DW, from among the entries duly submitted and received until the date of the event that ends participation in MEDIA LOVES TECH.

11. Limitation of liability – Participation in the concept:

By participating or attempting to participate in the competition, every person releases DW from any liability for damages that he or she may suffer by reason of participating or attempting to participate in the competition.

12. Prize acceptance:

By accepting the prize, all winners authorise DW to use, if necessary, their names, photographs, image, voice, place of residence and declaration relating to the prize for advertising purposes, without any compensation.

13. Paragraphs:

If a paragraph of these rules is declared or deemed unlawful, unenforceable or void by a competent court, this paragraph will then be considered void but all other unaffected paragraphs shall be applicable within the limits permitted by law.

14. These rules are available on the website.

15. The competition is subject to all laws applicable in Germany.

16. Personal information:

The personal information collected on participants shall be used solely for the purposes of managing MEDIA LOVES TECH.

17. Decisions:

Any person participating in MEDIA LOVES TECH agrees to be subject to these rules and the final and unappealable decisions of the organisers managing MEDIA LOVES TECH.

RÈGLEMENT

Conditions générales

A : Le concours est organisé par DW Akademie, nommée DW par la suite, et se déroulera d’avril à décembre 2019.

Le concours est ouvert à toute personne âgée de plus de 18 ans au moment de l’inscription (nommées les « personnes éligibles » par la suite). Journalistes, développeurs, designers/concepteurs, scientifiques, créatifs, technologues, particuliers ou représentants d’organisations, sont invités à participer, à soumettre des concepts ou à faire partie d’une équipe.

Les administrateurs de la DW, les membres du jury et les personnes avec lesquelles ils vivent, les mentors et les personnes avec lesquelles ils vivent ne sont pas admissibles à participer.

MEDIA LOVES TECH est un concours de pré-incubation, de l’idée à la réalisation d’un prototype de solution. Tous les projets à ce stade du projet entrepreneurial sont acceptés. Les projets doivent également être en phase de pré-commercialisation. Cela signifie qu’ils n’ont pas été proposés à la vente et qu’ils n’ont pas de clients déclarés.

B : Pour participer, les personnes éligibles doivent :

  • Accéder au site Web du concours (lien à venir) et cliquer sur le bouton d’inscription.
  • Créer un profil utilisateur et accéder à la section réservée au concours sur la plateforme du projet
  • Rejoindre une équipe (les équipes doivent avoir un minimum de 2 et un maximum de 5 participants)

Développer un concept (pitch deck) lié à l’un des thèmes proposés. L’équipe peut ensuite procéder à l’étape initiale de conception, de maquette ou de prototypage.

C : Les inscriptions seront ouvertes à partir de juin 2019 via le lien sur le site. Chaque personne inscrite dans MEDIA LOVES TECH doit créer un profil d’utilisateur sur la plateforme du projet, accessible sur le site web, en précisant le lieu où elle souhaite travailler.

  • Une séance d’information aura lieu dans le courant du mois d’avril, à une date qui sera annoncée plus tard.
  • À la date de soumission, les projets à soumettre doivent être, au maximum, en phase de conception (pré-prototypage) et les projets doivent être au maximum en phase de pré-commercialisation.
  • De juin à août 2019, les équipes doivent se former et travailler sur leurs concepts. Les équipes gagnantes de la phase 1 seront annoncées en septembre 2019 sur le site web du concours.
  • Pendant le Hackathon qui se tiendra en octobre 2019, les équipes doivent commencer à développer leurs prototypes et peuvent solliciter les compétences spécifiques des experts qui animeront ces ateliers.
  • Les équipes continueront à développer leurs projets après le Hackathon, jusqu’en novembre 2019. Des ateliers facultatifs seront proposés, avec l’appui d’experts techniques et médiatiques. Les dates et lieux de ces ateliers seront annoncés à l’avenir.
  • Le 20 novembre 2019 (à confirmer) est la date de dépôt des documents pour la finale : une présentation du projet, au format PDF, et une description du prototype (une vidéo de démonstration est souhaitée). La présentation de ces deux documents doit avoir lieu au plus tard le 20 novembre 2019 à 23h00 (heure de Tunis).

Tous les prix seront annoncés par les organisateurs aux équipes bénéficiaires lors de la cérémonie de clôture qui se tiendra en décembre 2019.

D : Tous les travaux effectués par les équipes sont la propriété des équipes. Aucune entreprise, organisation ou entité autre que les membres inscrits de l’équipe ne peut revendiquer des prérogatives sur la propriété intellectuelle développée chez MEDIA LOVES TECH. Toute propriété intellectuelle antérieure que les participants de MEDIA LOVES TECH apportent avec eux ou par laquelle ils sont liés en raison de leur statut professionnel doit être déclarée aux autres membres de l’équipe et aux organisateurs de MEDIA LOVES TECH.

E : Procédures du concours :

Étape 1 : Soumission avant août 2019, annonce des projets sélectionnés en septembre 2019. Les équipes sélectionnées (maximum 10) gagneront chacune 3.000 DT et auront la possibilité de continuer à développer leurs projets pendant le Hackathon durant le mois d’octobre 2019.

Étape 2 : Les équipes participant au Hackathon continueront à travailler sur leurs produits afin de pouvoir soumettre les prototypes avant le novembre 2019. L’équipe qui remportera les 30 000 DT sera annoncée en décembre 2019 lors de la cérémonie de clôture. Le prix sera décerné par étapes en fonction des progrès réalisés dans le développement du projet.

  • Innovation : le niveau d’innovation du concept dans la résolution du problème.
  • Expérience utilisateur : l’interface est-elle conviviale et facile à utiliser (selon le public cible du produit) ?
  • Fonctionnalité : niveau de fonctionnement du prototype et degré d’innovation technologique
  • Mise en œuvre : Quel est le plan de mise en œuvre et de promotion du produit à l’avenir (feuille de route) ?

Équipe de projet : degré de collaboration au sein de l’équipe, capacité et motivation à assurer la continuité du projet (lors des défis de l’Open-Innovation, il ne s’agit pas seulement de créer de nouvelles idées mais la collaboration et la co-création sont également parmi les principaux objectifs).

F : Les documents à soumettre sont les suivants :

Étape 1 :

À télécharger sur le site

  • Votre concept (pitch deck de 10 slides environ)
  • Une note conceptuelle (maximum cinq pages) décrivant votre idée, sa pertinence par rapport à votre public cible, le business model, votre équipe, votre prototype et toute autre information que vous jugez pertinente.

Les documents peuvent être rédigés en arabe, en français ou en anglais. L’anglais est apprécié.

Étape 2 :

Téléchargez une vidéo, un lien vers une démo ou tout autre document qui nous permettrait de mieux évaluer votre produit ou l’avancement de vos travaux.

Règlement

1. Afin d’être déclarée gagnante, l’équipe lauréate sélectionnée devra remplir les conditions suivantes :

Chacun de ces membres devra avoir signé le contrat d’engagement pour la soumission des prototypes ;

Confirmer qu’il/elle remplit les conditions d’admissibilité et les autres exigences du présent règlement ;

À défaut de respecter l’une des conditions mentionnées ci-dessus ou toute autre condition mentionnée au présent règlement, l’équipe sélectionnée sera disqualifiée et à la discrétion des organisateurs, le prix sera annulé ou ce prix sera attribué à une autre équipe conformément au présent règlement de participation. Les mêmes conditions resteront alors applicables en faisant les adaptations nécessaires, le cas échéant.

2. Remise du prix :

En cas de refus de recevoir son prix par le participant sélectionné, la DW Akademie, nommée DW par la suite, sera libérée de toute obligation relativement à la remise de ce prix et pourra procéder, à la discrétion, à l’annulation de ce prix ou à un nouveau tirage de la manière décrite dans le paragraphe précédent.

3. Vérifications :

Toutes les inscriptions et tous les formulaires de déclaration peuvent être soumis à des vérifications par la DW. Ceux qui sont incomplets, inexacts, illisibles, reproduits mécaniquement, mutilés, frauduleux, déposés ou transmis en retard, comportant un numéro de téléphone invalide ou autrement non conforme, pourront être rejetés et ne donneront pas droit au prix.

4. Participer :

Toute personne participant à MEDIA LOVES TECH ou tentant d’y participer par un moyen contraire à ce règlement et de nature à être injuste envers les autres participants (exemple : piratage informatique, non-déclaration de propriété intellectuelle antérieure) sera automatiquement disqualifiée et pourrait être référée aux autorités judiciaires compétentes. De même, les projets n’ayant pas respectés les statuts de pré-incubation (prototypage) et pré-commercialisation (amorçage) seront disqualifiés.

5. Propriété intellectuelle :

La propriété intellectuelle du prototype produit durant le MEDIA LOVES TECH appartient à l’ensemble de l’équipe. Il est de la responsabilité des équipes, si elles utilisent des éléments de propriété intellectuelle préexistants, de s’assurer d’avoir l’entière propriété de ceux-ci avant d’en faire usage dans le cadre de MEDIA LOVES TECH.

6. Déroulement du concours :

Toute tentative visant à saboter le déroulement légitime du concours constitue une violation des lois civiles et criminelles. Si de telles tentatives étaient menées, la DW se réserve le droit de rejeter les inscriptions du participant et d’obtenir réparation en vertu de la loi.

7. Acceptation des prix :

Les prix devront être acceptés tels que décrits sur le site web de MEDIA LOVES TECH et ne pourront en aucun cas être en totalité ou en partie transférés à une autre équipe, remplacés par un autre prix ou échangés contre de l’argent, sous réserve de ce que pourraient décider, à leur discrétion, les organisateurs.

8. Limite de responsabilité :

Si la DW ne peut attribuer le prix tel qu’il est décrit sur le site internet de MEDIA LOVES TECH, elle se réserve le droit de remettre un prix de même nature et de valeur équivalente ou, à son entière discrétion, la valeur du prix indiquée dans le présent règlement.

Limite de responsabilité – utilisation du prix

Le gagnant dégage la DW de toute responsabilité quant aux dommages qui pourraient découler de sa participation à MEDIA LOVES TECH, de l’acceptation et de l’utilisation du prix. Le gagnant reconnaît qu’à compter de la réception du prix ou de la lettre lui confirmant son prix, l’exécution des obligations liées au prix devient l’entière et exclusive responsabilité des différents fournisseurs de produits et services. Le gagnant s’engage à signer un formulaire de déclaration et d’exonération de responsabilité à cet effet. Le gagnant d’un prix reconnait que la seule garantie applicable à celui-ci est la garantie habituelle du manufacturier.

Limite de responsabilité – situation exceptionnelle

La DW n’assumera aucune responsabilité de quelque nature que ce soit dans tous les cas où son incapacité d’agir résulterait d’un fait ou d’une situation indépendante de sa volonté ou d’une grève, d’un lock-out ou de tout autre conflit de travail dans les établissements des organismes ou entreprises dont les services sont utilisés pour la tenue de ce concours.

Limite de responsabilité – participation à la MEDIA LOVES TECH

La DW ne sera pas responsable des participations perdues de toute défaillance pour quelque raison que ce soit, du site web pendant la durée du présent concours, y compris tout dommage à l’ordinateur ou l’appareil mobile d’un participant.

9. Modification du concours :

La DW se réserve le droit, à sa seule discrétion, d’annuler, de terminer, de modifier ou de suspendre, totalement ou en partie, le présent concours dans l’éventualité où se déroule un événement ou toute intervention humaine pouvant altérer ou influencer l’administration, la sécurité, l’impartialité ou le déroulement du concours tel que prévu dans le présent règlement aucune responsabilité ne pourra lui être imputée.

10. Fin de la participation au concours :

Dans l’éventualité où, pour quelle que raison que ce soit, la participation au concours devait prendre fin en totalité ou en partie avant la date de fin prévue par le présent règlement, l’attribution pourra se faire, à la discrétion de la DW, parmi les inscriptions dûment enregistrées et reçues jusqu’à la date de l’événement ayant mis fin à la participation à MEDIA LOVES TECH.

11. Limite de responsabilité – participation au concours :

En participant ou en tentant de participer à la compétition, toute personne dégage de toute responsabilité la DW de tout dommage qu’elle pourrait subir en raison de sa participation ou tentative de participation au concours.

12. Acceptation du prix :

En acceptant le prix, tout gagnant autorise la DW à utiliser, si nécessaire, ses noms, photographies, images, voix, lieux de résidence et déclarations relatives au prix à des fins publicitaires, et ce, sans aucune forme de rémunération.

13. Les paragraphes :

Si un paragraphe de ce règlement est déclaré ou jugé illégal, inexécutable ou nul part une cour compétente, alors ce paragraphe sera considéré comme étant nul, mais tous les autres paragraphes qui ne sont pas touchés seront appliqués dans les limites permises par la loi.

14. Le présent règlement est disponible sur le site

15. Le concours est assujetti à toutes les lois applicables en Allemagne

16. Renseignements personnels :

Les informations personnelles recueillies sur les participants seront utilisées uniquement à des fins de gestion de MEDIA LOVES TECH.

17. Décisions :

Toute personne qui participe à MEDIA LOVES TECH accepte de se conformer au présent règlement et aux décisions finales et sans appel des organisateurs qui administrent MEDIA LOVES TECH.