CALL UP

MEDIA LOVES TECH 2020


Hackathon 2019

Stages of the competition

About the competition

MEDIA LOVES TECH seeks to identify the best digital concepts for innovative and quality journalism. Launched by DW Akademie, Germany’s leading international media development organisation, this competition is open to journalists, startuppers, project leaders, creative people, developers, designers, civil society, any individual actor or organisation wishing to innovate for a quality media landscape in Tunisia, Morocco and Algeria.

The best digital innovation for the future of journalism in Tunisia will receive € 10,000.

MEDIA LOVES TECH is an initiative of DW Akademie in cooperation with Al Khatt in Tunisia. This project is funded by German cooperation, in particular by the German Ministry of International Cooperation.

Objective of the competition

The objective of MEDIA LOVES TECH is to identify and enable the implementation of effective solutions to the challenges and problems of the media and journalism in Tunisia, Morocco and Algeria.

To achieve this, MEDIA LOVES TECH is part of the new technological spirit of crowdsourcing, i.e. the collaboration of networked Internet users to generate services, ideas or content together. Crowdsourcing means crowd sourcing, a process of information sharing that stimulates the flow of ideas and creativity.

Themes of the competition

Citizen journalism – connecting with local communities:

Tools to reach specific audiences, tools to connect citizen journalists to the media in order to extend production and consumption capacity to new audience categories.

Checking content (fact-checking) / fighting against misinformation and fake news:

In a fragile political context, particularly in view of the upcoming elections, Tunisians have difficulty distinguishing information from misinformation. Comments are often shared without specifying the context, articles and reports often interpret the facts in an unspecified way, without considering the nuances.

Election coverage:

As parliamentary and presidential elections approach, the media will need tools to ensure quality coverage.

Datajournalism:

Develop tools and technologies that can help the media to analyze, process or visualize data.

Media viability:

Innovative tools to ensure the economic and financial viability of media projects.

Dialogue with public authorities:

Tools that contribute to greater transparency in public action and promote dialogue between citizens and political and economic decision-makers.

Information in times of crisis :

Tools contributing to the dissemination of information of public utility and the implementation of solutions for the general public in order to better face a crisis (health, environmental, economic or political).

What’s to be gained?

MEDIA LOVES TECH will take place in two stages with the possibility, at each stage, to obtain financing and support to accelerate the development of your product. The selected concepts will also benefit from professional support.

Step 1:

Selection of the best concepts. Concepts can be submitted until the 31st of July 2020 (the precise date will be communicated shortly). The best concepts will receive €1,000 each.

Step 2:

These winning teams will participate in a Hackathon in October 2020 and will continue to develop their prototypes until the end of November 2020. The best project will receive funding of €10,000 which will be presented to the winning team at the closing ceremony on 3 December 2020.

Who can participate?

The competition is open to creative people, journalists, media professionals, entrepreneurs, designers, developers, civil society, any individual or organization wishing to contribute, through a concept or by offering their skills, to the rise of journalism in Tunisia, Morocco and Algeria through digital technology. See also our Rules.

I have a great concept:

You are invited to submit your concept. If you already have a team, please indicate this when you register, otherwise indicate the skills you would need to complete your project. Among the other registered participants, those with the required skills will be assigned to your concept within the limits of available capacities.

I don’t like working in a team, I prefer to participate all by myself:

MEDIA LOVES TECH is based on the spirit of collaboration and teamwork. And that is what we want to strengthen through this initiative. The participating teams must be composed of 2 to 5 people.

Rules

The complete rules of the 2020 edition can be found here.
In case of doubt, you can also consult the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ). If you still have any questions at this stage, please do not hesitate to contact us.

CALL UP

MEDIA LOVES TECH 2020

Retrouvez ici bientôt les informations pour la compétition de 2020.

Pour tout savoir sur l’édition 2019 de MEDIA LOVES TECH, rendez-vous sur les rubriques et Hackathon, Actus  et Presse !

À propos de la compétition

MEDIA LOVES TECH cherche à identifier les meilleurs concepts numériques pour un journalisme innovant et de qualité. Lancée par DW Akademie, organisation leader en Allemagne dans le développement international des médias, cette compétition est ouverte aux journalistes, « startuppeurs », porteurs de projets, créatifs, développeurs, designers, société civile, tout acteur individuel ou organisation qui souhaite innover pour un paysage médiatique de qualité en Tunisie, au Maroc et en Algérie.

La meilleure innovation numérique pour le futur du journalisme en Tunisie, au Maroc ou en Algérie recevra 10 000 €.

MEDIA LOVES TECH est une initiative de DW Akademie en coopération avec l’ONG médias Al Khatt en Tunisie. Ce projet est financé par la coopération allemande, notamment par le Ministère de la Coopération Internationale de l’Allemagne.

Objectif de la compétition

L’objectif de MEDIA LOVES TECH est d’identifier et de permettre la mise en œuvre de solutions efficaces pour les enjeux et les problématiques des médias et du journalisme en Tunisie, au Maroc et en Algérie.

Pour cela, MEDIA LOVES TECH s’inscrit dans le nouvel esprit technologique du crowdsourcing, soit la collaboration d’internautes en réseau pour générer ensemble des services, des idées ou des contenus. Crowdsourcing signifie approvisionnement par la foule, un procédé de partage de l’information qui stimule le foisonnement d’idées et la créativité.

Thèmes de la compétition

Journalisme citoyen – connecter avec les communautés locales :

des outils qui permettent de toucher des audiences spécifiques, des outils permettant de connecter les journalistes citoyens aux médias afin d’étendre la capacité de production et de consommation à de nouvelles catégories d’audience

Vérification des contenus (fact-checking) / lutte contre la désinformation et les fake news :

dans un contexte politique fragile, notamment lors de périodes électorales ou de périodes de crises, Tunisiens, Marocains et Algériens ont du mal à distinguer l’information de la mésinformation. Des propos sont souvent partagés sans spécifier le contexte, des articles et rapports interprètent souvent les faits de manière non précise, sans considérer les nuances

Couverture d’élections :

à l’approche d’élections, les médias auront besoin d’outils pour assurer une couverture de qualité.

Datajournalisme :

développer des outils et technologies pouvant aider les médias à analyser, traiter ou visualiser des données

Viabilité des médias :

des outils innovants pour assurer la viabilité économique et financière de projets médias

Dialogue avec les pouvoirs publics :

outils contribuant à une plus grande transparence de l’action publique et qui favorisent le dialogue entre citoyens et décideurs politiques et économiques

Information en période de crise :

outils contribuant à la diffusion d’informations d’utilité publique et à la mise en place de solutions pour le grand public dans le but de mieux affronter une crise (sanitaire, environnementale, économique ou politique).

Qu’y a-t-il à gagner ?

MEDIA LOVES TECH se déroulera en deux étapes avec la possibilité, à chaque étape, de décrocher un financement et un appui pour accélérer le développement de votre produit. Les concepts sélectionnés bénéficieront également d’un accompagnement professionnel.

Étape 1 :

Sélection des meilleurs concepts. Les concepts peuvent être soumis jusque fin août 2020 (la date précise sera communiquée prochainement). Les meilleurs concepts recevront 1 000 € chacun.

Étape 2 :

Ces mêmes équipes participeront à un Hackathon au mois d’octobre 2020 et continueront à développer leurs prototypes jusqu’à la fin du mois de novembre 2020. Le meilleur projet recevra un financement de 10 000 € qui sera remis à l’équipe gagnante lors de la cérémonie de clôture, le 3 décembre 2020 (tbc).

Qui peut participer ?

La compétition est ouverte aux créatifs, journalistes, professionnels des médias, entrepreneurs, designers, développeurs, société civile, tout acteur individuel ou organisation qui souhaite contribuer, par un concept ou en offrant ses compétences, à la montée en puissance du journalisme en Tunisie, au Maroc et en Algérie grâce au numérique. Voir aussi le règlement.

J’ai un super concept :

Vous êtes invité.e à soumettre votre concept. Si vous avez déjà une équipe, veuillez l’indiquer lors de votre inscription, autrement veuillez indiquer les compétences dont vous auriez besoin pour mener à bien votre projet. Parmi les autres participants inscrits, ceux disposant des compétences requises seront affectés à votre concept dans la limite des capacités disponibles.

Je n’aime pas travailler en équipe, je préfère participer tout.e seul.e :

MEDIA LOVES TECH est basé sur l’esprit de collaboration et de travail en équipe. Et c’est ce que nous souhaitons renforcer à travers cette initiative. Les équipes participantes doivent être composées de 2 à 5 personnes.

Règlement

Les règlements complets de l’édition 2020 sont à consulter ici.
En cas de doute, vous pouvez aussi consulter la Foire Aux Questions (F.A.Q.). Si vous avez encore des questions à ce stade-ci, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter.